Packing for an island getaway

I’m leaving on my next adventure in less than 5 hours and as usual I’m struggling to figure out what on earth I need to take with me! I think this post is as much for my benefit as it is for yours. I’m sure I’m not the only one who finds packing to be a slightly painful task. Don’t get me wrong there’s always an element of excitement because it means I’m about to jump on a plane and go somewhere new! My next destination…? Hawaii!!! Last year I visited Oahu but this time around I’m exploring Maui and the Big Island. So here’s a quick list of all the essential items you need to pack when your escaping to somewhere tropical.

The Essentials

Essentials

  1. Camera
  2. GoPro/ Video camera
  3. Sunscreen!!!
  4. Sunglasses
  5. Bikini
  6. Passport and travel documents (plane tickets, accommodation details, visas etc.)
  7. Tablet loaded with the Lonely Planet eBook of you chosen destination

Beachwear

Beachwear

  1. Towel
  2. Floppy beach hat
  3. Beach Pants
  4. Bikini (you can never have too many bikinis!)

Playsuits and Dresses

Playsuits and dresses

Something cute to throw on over your swimsuit

  1. Playsuit
  2. Dress
  3. Hat

Everyday Wear

everyday

Something casual to throw on in case you decided to drag yourself away from the beach and do a little sightseeing.

  1. Top
  2. Singlet
  3. Shorts
  4. Slip on shoes

The perfect jumpsuit

Jumpsuit

The kind of jumpsuit that’s perfect for any occasion, day or night.

  1. Jumpsuit
  2. Hat

Activewear

Activewear

Ok I know an island getaway is meant to be all about lying on the beach and relaxing but I’m going to Hawaii and it is bursting at the seams with adventure! Waterfalls, rugged cliffs, volcanoes and trails for days. I’m definitely going to need some active wear for everything I have planned. I work at Asics so my choice of active wear is maybe a little bias.

  1. Crop top
  2. Tights
  3. Visor
  4. T-shirt
  5. Closed in shoes

 

And that’s all I’ve got for now, I need to stop procrastinating and actually do some packing! Here’s a little look at the fantastic time I had in Hawaii last year.

One thought on “Packing for an island getaway

Leave a Reply

