First stop: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

For those of you who don’t know, I departed my beloved Australia on Friday the 26th of February for a 5 month journey around Asia.  I’ve been planning this trip for a long time and I’m so excited that it’s actually begun. Of course it was sad saying goodbye to all my loved ones at home but 5 months isn’t all that long! I felt a mixture of excitement and nervousness all at once. I’ve traveled a lot but I always have an itinerary and I’ve never set off for this long before. I’m starting the journey with my sister Kirsten, my boyfriend Ryan and two of his friends; Tanner and Kyle. I will be travelling legs of the trip solo, something I’ve never done before and the most likely reason for the niggling nervousness in the pit of my stomach when I got dropped at the airport.

Anyway let’s cut to the chase, right now I’m on a plane bound for Kathmandu, Nepal (so exciting!). Kirsten and I departed Australia early Friday morning. It was a rocky start when we arrived at the airport to find it was being evacuated due to a fire alarm,  never the way you want a trip to start! Lucky the evacuation was short lived and we managed to get inside and get checked in. Despite the longest queue for security that I have ever seen everything from here ran smoothly and our flight was only delayed about 10 minutes.

Before we knew it we were on our way with an overnight stay in Kuala Lumpur the first thing on our agenda. With a 26 hour stopover on our way to Kathmandu we decided to stay in the city for the night. I’d flown through KL on numerous occasions but I’ d never had the chance to  check out the city so this seemed like the perfect opportunity. The city is about 45 minutes to an hour from  the airport and once you factor in going through customs and rechecking your bags and customs again to depart you will need a pretty decent layover to have time for this little adventure. We stayed in the Explorers Guesthouse in the China town district and it was the perfect place for our quick visit. Check out the view from the rooftop!

image

Top of the list of our things to do in KL was a visit to Petronas towers (twin towers) and it certainly didn’t disappoint, make sure you go to see it lit up at night and in the day time. Also make sure you check it out from both sides and spend a bit of time hanging out in the shops inside or just utilising the aircon to escape from the Malaysian humidity. Oh and when we visited it at night time we managed to time it perfectly with what I’m guessing is a fountain show that is on every few hours each night, it was completely a coincidence that we got to enjoy this.

image
View from the gardens
image
Night time view with the fountains
image
Night time view from the otherside
image
...another view from the gardens

We also set off on foot from our hostel in search of the national museum. .. we never found it, it was really hot and in the end we gave up. We did manage to see a bit of the city on our little walking tour and in the end we found ourselves back at KLCC gazing up at the awesome twin towers again. You couldn’t keep me away!

image
KL main station
image
View of the KL skyline from the National Mosque
image
KLCC Gardens

A quick freshen up at the hostel and it was time to head back to the airport.  We were struck with another flight delay when a passenger failed to board the plane meaning the airline had to remove his bags. But not to worry we’ll be landing in Kathmandu shortly where we will catching up with the boys and starting an Intrepid tour called Annapurna explorer. We’ll be trekking the Annapurna region for 10 days, I’ve got a feeling this is going to be a life changing experience. 

Stay tuned for more of my Asian adventures as I explore Nepal,  India, the Maldives,  Sri Lanka,  the Philippines, Myanmar, Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia.  I’m feeling pretty good about staying on top of my blog posts for now but it is only day 2 of my travels. I’ll be doing my best to keep them coming when I have access to WiFi.  Make sure you subscribe so you know the minute I’ve posted a new one and I hope you enjoy reading about my adventures!

2 thoughts on “First stop: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Leave a Reply

