Road Tripping – Vancouver to Calgary

The Rocky Mountains of Canada have always been right at the top of my places I have to visit! So when I found myself in Vancouver I couldn’t miss my opporunity to visit this incredible place. Ryan met me in Vancouver and we hired a car for what would be one of the best road trips of our life! We planned our itinerary after consulting my trusty lonely planet and we headed off from Vancouver for our first stop in the town of Kelowna.

Vancouver to Kelowna

We tried to head off each day as early as we could to allow for maximum pit stop opportunities and on our first day we managed to fit in 3. These were all completely unplanned and if we saw a sign for something interesting we would quickly google it and decide if it was worthy of a stop. Almost always we stopped, how can I possibly pass over the opportunity to see a new waterfall or lake?! On day 1 we stopped at Bridal Veil Falls, Coquihalla Canyon and the Othello Caves and Falls Lake. From here we continued on to the town of Kelowna where we would be spending the night.

dsc_0578
Bridal Veil Falls

Kelowna to Revelstoke

Kelowna lies on the edge of the Okanagan lake so we made sure we got up with enough time to go for a quick bike ride around the lake before we headed off for our next destination. We kept an eye out for Ogopogo, a monster that is rumoured to reside in the lake but we didnt have any luck in spotting it.

Revelstoke was the next town on our roadtrip where we would be spending 4 nights in a log cabin! This would be our base to explore Mt Revelstoke National Park and Glacier National Park.

Enroute to Revelstoke we stopped at Wood Lake and The Last Spike, a Canadian historical sight marking the last spike that was driven into the Canadian Pacific Railway.

DSC_1461.jpg
Reinacting history!

We arrived in the town of Revelstoke with time to spare so we decided to drive to the summit of Mt Revelstoke to check it out and get an idea of which hike we would be doing the following day, the weather was a little gloomy but there were still some incredible views of the surrounding mountains.

dsc_0632
Mt Revelstoke Summit
DSC_0667.jpg
View of Albert Peak from Meadows in the Sky Parkway

I’d planned to try and fit the whole road trip into one post but after starting on it I realised I have so many amazing photos and stories that I want to share with you and if I put it all together you’d be reading my post for days so I’ve decided to break it up into the different National Parks that we visited so stay tuned for the next installment: Hiking Mt Revelstoke National Park!

 

Leave a Reply

